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FEES/PROCESSESS FOR CHANGE OF NAME OF AN ADULT

The 37" Circuit Court has assembled this packet as a resource for parties seeking to represent
themselves in a name change matter. Courts and Court personnel are prohibited by law from
giving legal advice. This packet is not a substitute for legal advice from an attorney but is
intended only to provide parties the relevant court forms and instructions for their use.

HELP: Additional help is available, at no cost, at the Michigan Legal Help website. The
Michigan Legal Help website helps parties prepare their court forms online for free.
Name Change court forms and instructions can be found at:
https://michiganlegalhelp.org/self-help-tools/family/name-change#

Contact information for Calhoun County Michigan Legal Help Self Help Centers is
included in this packet or at https://michiganlegalhelp.org/organizations-courts/self-help-

centers/michigan-legal-help-self-help-center-network-of-calhoun-county

FEES: There is a filing fee of $175.00 that must be paid to the Court at the time of filing by
check or money order made payable to 37 Judicial Circuit.”

If you are not able to afford the filing fee you may quelify for a waiver of the fee.
A “Fee Waiver Request” form is included in this packet or as a fillable PDF at:

https://courts.michigan.gov/Administration/SCAO/Forms/courtforms/mc20.pdf

i

A fee waiver from the Court does not waive fees that must be paid other agencies such as
to law enforcement for fingerprinting, a newspaper for publication, service fees if you
have to serve another party, and/or the fee paid to the State for amending the birth
certificate. Those fees are owed directly to those third parties, not to the Court.

FILING: File a “Petition to Change Name” (Form PC51) and required documents to start the
process of changing your name.

A Petition to Change Name is included in this packet or as a fillable PDF at:

https://courts.michigan.gov/Administration/SCAOQ/Forms/courtforms/peS1.pdf

BIRTH CERTIFICATE: A certified copy of the Birth Certificate of each person who is
requesting a name change must be filed with Petition to Change Name. If your current
name does not match your birth certificate, please file supporting documentation such as
a Marriage Certificate and Judgment of Divorce when you file your Petition

HOW TO FILL OUT THE PETITION TO CHANGE NAME:

Paragraph #1: Indicate any previous court cases such as a support, divorce, paternity, custody
and parent time, name change, adoption, neglect/abuse, guardianship, delinquency
Paragraph #2: Indicate whether petition is only to change your name or whether a spouse or
child is included in the petition. (If a child is included, see instructions for children.)
Paragraph #3: You must say why you want to change your name.



Paragraph #4: Attest that the name change is not sought for any fraudulent intent. You cannot
change your name for fraudulent reasons. Fraudulent reasons include wanting to
deceive creditors or escape a criminal history.

Paragraph #5 — Name any petitioner(s) that has/have a criminal record. Every person who
wants their name changed will be asked if they have a criminal record but only those
aged 22 years old or older are required to apply to the Michigan State Police for
criminal history background check. (See Criminal Background Check below.)

Paragraph #6 — Attest that each person for whom a name change is sought has been a resident
of Calhoun County for at least one year.

Paragraph #7 — Information about any minor child included in the Petition. (If a child is
included, see separate instructions for children.)

Paragraph #8 — List the current first, middle, and last name of each Petitioner (under the column
“From”) and the first, middle, and last name that the Petitioner wants (under the column
“To”) and each Petitioner’s date of birth.

Paragraph #9 - If you want to seal your original birth certificate, you must indicate that at this
paragraph.

Before filing with the clerk, you must sign the Petition and make a copy of the signed
Petition for each interested party. You will serve each interested party with a copy of your
Petition.

COMMON REASONS FOR PETITIONS TO BE REJECTED/DENIED:

AT TIME OF FILING: ‘
¢ No check or money order for filing fee.
¢ DPetitioner does not provide a certified copy of a Birth Certificate or other supporting

documents about the current name you are seeking to change.

e Petitioner has not signed the Petition.

AT TIME OF HEARING:
e Failure to provide Criminal Background Check.
e Failure to meet requirement to publish notice of name change in a local newspaper.

CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECK: Every person 22 years of age or older who is
requesting a name change must have a criminal background check.

[0 When: Immediately after filing your petition with the court to avoid delaying your
hearing. The reason the case is filed with the court first is because you must give the case
number assigned to your case by this court when you fill out your fingerprint card.

00 Where: Make an appointment to be fingerprinted with a local police agency. The cost to
get fingerprinted varies between local agencies in the County.

0 How: Mail your fingerprint cards, a copy of your Petition to Change Name, and a check
or money order made out to “State of Michigan” for $43.25 (per person) to:

Michigan State Police Department, CJIC, P.O. Box 30266, Lansing, MI 48909

O What Next? When the MSP have completed a search of state police records and have
gotten information requested from the Federal Bureau of Investigations, the MSP will
mail your completed background check directly to the court. This usually takes 3-5
weeks. The /court will not schedule your hearing for your name change until after
we receive the report from the Michigan State Police!!




PUBLICATION: All notices of name change hearings must be published in a local newspaper.
This gives people your name change may affect (like your creditors) a chance to object,

When the court gets your criminal background report from the Michigan State Police, it
will schedule a hearing. When your hearing is scheduled, the Court will mail you a
“Publication of Notice of Hearing” for Name Change form with the date and time of the
Court has scheduled for your hearing.

You must contact a local newspaper immediately to ask them to publish your notice. The

cost will vary depending on the newspaper. Two local options in Calhoun County are:

o Battle Creek Shopper News: Attention J-Ad Graphics, Fax (269)968-8586, or email
to erin@j-adgraphics.com. Cost is $60.10.

¢ Battle Creek Enquirer: Attn: Legals/Kelly, P.O. Box 787, Neptune, NJ 07753. Cost
is $63.50.

The newspaper must complete the details of the Affidavit of Publication that must list the
qualifications of newspaper and the dates the notice was published. The publication must -
say: “The result of the hearing may be to bar or affect any interested persons interest in
the above matter.” Some newspapers have a standard affidavit form they use. If the
newspaper publishing your notice does not, you may download an Affidavit of
Publication Form at https://www.michigan.gov/documents/272f 2986 7.pdf

After the newspaper publishes the notice of hearing, they will provide you with a copy of
the published notice and Affidavit of Publication. YOU MUST SUBMIT THOSE TO
THE COURT (THE NEWSPAPER WILL NOT DO IT FOR YOU)!

The judge will NOT hold a hearing on your petition without receiving the required
Affidavit of Publication and a copy of the published notice!

The Notice of Hearing must be published at least 14 days prior to the hearing.

The Affidavit of Publication must be filed with the court at least seven days prior to your
hearing date, or you risk your petition being dismissed and having to start over!

HEARING: On the day of your hearing, bring any documents that are related to your name
change. It is always a good idea to have two copies of the documents, so you can give the

judge one.

If your petition is approved, the judge will complete and sign the order. If you want a
certified copy of the order, it costs another $10.

AMENDED BIRTH CERTIFICATE: If you were born in Michigan, to obtain a copy of a new
birth certificate, you will need to submit a certified copy of your court order, an




application form, and a fee to: State of Michigan, Department of Public Health, 3423
N. Logan Street, PO Box 30195, Lansing, Michigan 48909.

The Application to Correct or Change a Michigan Birth Record form is in this packet or
may be downloaded at: https://www.michigan.gov/documents/over6 6643 7.pdf

If you were not born in Michigan, you will have to contact the office responsible for vital
records in the State in which you were born.

GENDER IDENTIFIERS: The Court cannot change your Gender Identifier, however, per
Michigan Vital Records, upon completion of a name change hearing, when the parties
file an Application to Correct or Change a Michigan Birth Record form, an individual can
change their gender identity if they also attach a medical affidavit from the doctor that
performed the gender reassignment surgery. If you have further questions, please contact
Vital Records at 517-335-8666.

To change the gender marker on your Michigan ID or driver’s license, complete the
Michigan Secretary of State Sex Designation Form, which can be downloaded at:
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/sos/Gender Change form_Fillable 671603_7.pdf
This form does not require any medical treatment or surgical history in order to change
your gender marker. When you sign the form, you are swearing the reason you want to
change the gender marker is so that your ID can accurately reflect your identity.



JIS CODE: OSF

STATE OF MICHIGAN CASE NO. and JUDGE

JUDICIAL DISTRICT
37th JUDICIAL CIRCUIT FEE WAIVER REQUEST
Calhoun COUNTY
Court address Court telephone no.
161 E Michigan Ave, Battle Creek, MI 49014 (269) 969-6518
Plaintiff/Petitioner’s name, address, and telephone no. Defendant/Respondent’s name, address, and telephone no.

v

Piaintiff/Petitioner’s attorney, bar no., address, and telephone no. Defendant/Respondent’s attorney, bar no., address, and telephone no.

In the matter of

Instructions: Complete this form and file it with the court. If this request is filed by a prisoner, a certified statement of the
prisoner’s trust account showing a current balance and a 12-month history of deposits and withdrawals must accompany
this form. After you receive a decision on your request, you must serve your request and the decision on the other party(ies).

| request a waiver of my filing fees for the following reason: (Check 1, 2, or 3)
0J 1. I receive the following type(s) of public assistance because of indigence:
[J Food Assistance Program through the State of Michigan (also known as FAP or SNAP)
UJ Medicaid (including Healthy Michigan, CHIP, and ESO)
[ Family Independence Program through the State of Michigan (also known as FIP or TANF)
L1 Women, Infants, and Children benefits (WIC)
[J Supplemental Security Income through the federal government (SSi)
[J Other means-tested public assistance:
My public assistance case number(s) (if any) is

Write “none” if no case number. Do not write your SSN.

[J 2. Il am represented by a legal services program or | receive assistance from a law school clinic because
of indigence. The name of the legal services program or law school clinic is

0J 3. tam unable to pay the fees and | did not check item 1 or 2 above.
My gross household income is $ every
The number of people in my household is
My source of income is
List assets and their worth, such as bank accounts. If you need more space, attach a separate sheet.

Week/Two weeks/Month/Year

List obhgations and how much you pay, such as rent or other debts. If you need more space, attach a separate sheet.

| declare under the penalties of perjury that this request has been examined by me and that its contents are true to the best
of my information, knowledge, and belief.

Date Signature

Approved, SCAO Distribute form to:
Form MC 20, Rev. 9/23 Court

MCR 2.002 Applicant

Page 1 of 2 Other parties

Friend of the court (when applicable)




Fee Waiver Request (9/23) Case No.
Page 2 of 2

| CLERK WAIVER

1. Payment of filing fees is waived.

Signature of court clerk and date

IT IS ORDERED:
(] 1. Payment of filing fees is waived because:
(J a. Your gross household income is under 125% of the federal poverty guidelines.
[Jb. Your gross household income is above 125% of the federal poverty guidelines, but payment of
the fees would constitute a financial hardship for you.
Llc. Other:

If you become able to pay the fees before this case is resolved, you must notify the court.

[] 2. The fee waiver request is denied because:
[ Ja. Your gross household income is above 125% of the federal poverty guidelines and payment of
the fees would not constitute a financial hardship for you.
{b. Other:

Judge/Magistrate (when authorized) signature and date

IF YOUR REQUEST WAS DENIED: To continue your case and preserve your filing date, you have 14 days from the issue
date below to pay the filing fees or request a review. To request a review, fill out a Request for Review of Denied Fee Waiver
(form MC 114) and file it with the court.

Issue date (completed by clerk)



PCS Code: NAM

For help filling out this form, go to michiganiegathelp.org TCS Code: PNC
STATE OF MICHIGAN CASE NO. and JUDGE
37th JUDICIAL CIRCUIT - FAMILY DIVISION
COUNTY PETITION FOR NAME CHANGE
Court address Court telephone no.
161 E Michigan Ave, Battle Creck, MI 49014 (269) 969-6518

You must complete fon'n PC 51 or PC 51c to begin a name change proceeding. Use this form (PC 57) unless you have good cause not to publiish
notice of your name change proceeding, such as you believe publication of the notice of hearing will put you or another individual in danger of
physical harm, or at risk of unlawful retaliation or discrimination. If you have good cause, use form PC 51¢, Petition for Name Change and Ex Parte
Request for Nonpublication and Confidential Record to ask the court for permission not to publish a notice about the name change and to keep the
record confidential.

B. Unless you have received permission not to publish, the law requires that notice of hearing about the petition be published in a newspaper.
You must file a completed PC 50, Publication of Notice of Hearing Regarding Petition for Name Change, with the court. Contact the court
clerk for information about when PC 50 must be submitted.

C. Every person 22 years of age or older who is requesting a name change must have a criminal background check. For details, go

to michiganiegalhelp.org.

In the matter of

Current first, middle, and last name(s) (type or print)
Petitioner's name, address, and telephone no. Petitioner’s attorney, bar no., address, and telephone no.

[ 1. An action within the jurisdiction of the family division of circuit court involving the family or family members of

person(s) named above has/have been previously filed in Court,

Case Number , was assigned to Judge ,
and [Jremains [isnolonger  pending.

2. The name change is for
[ a. a married person who wishes to also include a name change for their
[ spouse.
[ minor child(ren), of whom the petitioner has legal custody. (For a minor 14 years or oider, written consent is required. See
form PC 51b.)
Llb. an adult.
[ c. a minor, whose natural or adopted parents are

Parent [_] Deceased

and

Parent | |Deceased )

[ Both parents are deceased. The guardian is
(Attach letters of guardianship.)

Name

3. The name change is for the following reason:

4. The name change is not sought for any fraudulent intent.

5. The following person(s) seeking a name change has/have a criminal record:

6. Each person for whom a name change is sought has been a resident of the county for at least one year.

Approved, SCAO

Form PC 51, Rev. 7/23

MCL 333.2872, MCL 711.1, MCR 3.613
Page 1 of 3




Petition for Name Change (7/23) Case No.
Page 2 of 3

Note: Skip item 7 if the noncustodial parent consents to the name change or if there is not a noncustodial parent.
[ 7. 1 have legal custody of the minor.

[J a. The noncustodial parent has had the ability to visit, contact, or communicate with the child and has regularly and
substantially failed or neglected to do so for a period of two years or more before the filing of this petition and
either:

(] a support order has been entered, and the noncustodial parent has failed to substantially comply with the
order for a period of two years or more before the filing of this petition; or

[ a support order has not been entered and the noncustodial parent, having the ability to support or assist in
supporting the child, has failed or neglected to provide regular and substantial support for two years or more
before the filing of this petition.

[ b. The noncustodial parent has been convicted of child abuse (MCL 750.136b), criminal sexual conduct (MCL 750.520b,
750.520¢, 750.520d, or 750.520e), or assault with intent to commit criminal sexual conduct (MCL 750.520g) and the child
or a sibling of the child was the victim. (Attach judgment of sentence.)

[ c. The noncustodial parent has been convicted of first degree murder (MCL 750.316) or second degree murder
(MCL 750.317). (Attach judgment of sentence.)

8. I request the following name change(s): (Type or print first name, middle name, and last name.)

FROM (current name) TO (proposed name) DATE OF BIRTH

First: First

Petitioner |Mddle: Middle: Put DOB in Ref. No. row 10 on MC 97a.
Last. Last:
First: First:

Spouse Middle: Middle: Put DOB in Ref. No. row 11 on MC 97a.
Last: Last:
First: First:

Minor child |Middle: Middle: Put DOB in Ref. No. row 12 on MC 97a.
Last: Last:
First: First:

Minor child |Middle: Middle: Put DOB in Ref. No. row 13 on MC 97a.
Last: Last:
First: First:

Minor child |Middle: Middle Put DOB in Ref. No. row 14 on MC 97a.
Last: Last:

Note: If you want a new live birth certificate, check item 9. A special order is not needed if you only want to add the changed name(s) to the original
certificate(s).
[19. I request the court to order the State Registrar to create a new live birth certificate that does not disclose the name(s) of

at birth and to seal the original certificate.

Name(s)

| declare under the penalties of perjury that this petition has been examined by me and that its contents are true to the best
of my information, knowledge, and belief.

Date Petitioner’s signature

Petitioner’s attorney signature



Petition for Name Change (7/23)
Page 3 of 3

| SIGNATURE OF PARENT/GUARDIAN FOR MINOR |

Date

Case No.

Date

Signature

Signature

Name (type or print)

Name (type or print)

Address

Address

City, state, zip

Telephone no.

City, state, zip Telephone no.

| CONSENT BY SPOUSE OF PETITIONER | If the petition is filed for a spouse, this consent must be signed by the spouse of the petitioner.

I am the spouse of the petitioner and consent to the granting of this petition to change my name.

Date

Signature Attorney signature

Name (type or print) Attorney name (type or print) Bar no.
Address Address

City, state, zip Telephone no. City, state, zip Telephone no.



JIS Code: API

STATE OF MICHIGAN CASE NO. and JUDGE
JUDICIAL DISTRICT ADDENDUM TO
37th JUDICIAL CIRCUIT IDZ?I?L%CIJEE:NPF%RSSEQSN
Calhoun COUNTY
Court address Court telephone no.
161 E Michigan Ave, Battle Creek, MI 49014 (269) 969-6518
Plaintiff's/Petitioner’'s name Defendant’s/Respondent’s name
v

In the matter of

This form is nonpublic because it contains personal identifying information (Pil) that is protected from public inspection
under MCR 1.109(D)(9)a). Use this form to provide Pl} only for a person who is a NOT a defendant, respondent, or
decedent. If the person is a defendant, respondent, or decedent use form MC 97,

Instructions:
* When PII (such as date of birth) must be filed with the court on a public document, DO NOT include it on that public
document. Instead, you must provide it on this form.
* Provide only the protected P1l required for your particular case. For example, if you are filing a public document that
requires you to provide a date of birth to the court, complete only that field on this form.

Name of form/document that this MC 97a is being filed with:

Printed name of individual completing form and date

Instructions: Provide the name of the person that the Pll applies to, followed by the specific Pl that is required. For Other, specify the type
Ref. |of Pl in addition to the PII itself - for example, Social Security No. XXXX. Use the below reference number (Ref. No.) in the public document in
No. |place of the protected Pil. For example, insert “Ref. No. XX" in place of the DOB in the public document.
Name DOB Other
10

Name DOB Other
11

Name DOB Other
12

Name DOB Other
13

Name DOB Other
14

Name DOB Other
15

Name DOB Other
16

Name DOB Other
17

Name DOB Other
18

Approved, SCAO

Form MC 97a, Rev. 9/20
MCR 1.109

Page 1 of 1




PCS Code: PBN
TCS Code: PBNC

STATE OF MICHIGAN

37th JyUDICIAL CIRCUIT - FAMILY DIVISION PUBLICATION OF NOTICE OF

Calhoun COUNTY

HEARING REGARDING
PETITION FOR NAME CHANGE

CASE NO. and JUDGE

Court address
161 E Michigan Ave, Battle Creck, MI 49014

Court telephone no.

(269) 969-6518

Use note: Use this form for the required publication of notice unless you have an order granting a request for
nonpublication. If you have an order for nonpublication, but must publish a notice to a noncustodial parent, use form
PC 50c, Publication of Notice of Hearing Regarding Petition for Name Change (Noncustodial Parent).

In the matter of

Current first, middle, and last name(s) (type or print)

Publish only the information contained in the box below.

TAKE NOTICE:

TO ALL PERSONS, including: (specify non-custodial parent’s name here, if applicable)

whose address is unknown and whose interest in the matter may be barred or affected by the following:

Petitioner's name

A name change hearing will be held on

has filed a petition for name change.

at

Date and time

Location

before Judge

to

to change the name of:

Current name

Proposed name

to

Current name

Proposed name

to

Current name

Proposed name

to

Current name

Proposed name

to

Current name

Proposed name

Publish______ time(s)in

County.

Name of publication

Fumnish _______ copiesto
Furnish affidavit of publication to the ] court.

[J Forward statement for publication charges to

[ petitioner.

Approved, SCAO

Form PC 50, Rev. 7/23

MCL 711.1, MCR 2.106(D), MCR 3.613
Page 1 of 1



Approved, SCAO JIS CODE: WAC

STATE OF MICHIGAN FILE NO.
PROBATE COURT
Calhoun COUNTY WAIVER/CONSENT
37th  cIRCUIT COURT - FAMILY DIVISION

In the matter of

1. I am interested in the matter as

[ ] 2. I waive notice of the hearing and consent to the application/petition for

Nature of application/petition and name of applicant/petitioner

, and | declare that | have received a copy of this application/petition.

[]3. 1 waive notice of the hearing concerning

Nature of hearing

Date
Signature
Attormney name (type or print) Bar no. Name (type or print)
Address Address
City, state, zip Telephone no. City, state, zip Telephone no.

NOTE: Do not use for waivers pursuant to MCL 700.3310.

Do not write below this line - For court use only

PC 561 (9/07) WAIVER/CONSENT MCL 700.1402, MCR 5.104(B)



Michigan Department of Treasury
272 (Rev. 1-07)

This form is issued under the authority of
Public Act 206 of 1893, MCL 211.66 and
211.780(1)(b).

PROOF OF PUBLICATION AFFIDAVIT

INSTRUCTIONS:

PUBLISHER: Prepare in triplicate. Send all affidavits, with a copy of the final publication attached, to

County of

to the County Clerk

being duly sworn, testifies that he/she

is

of the

a newspaper published at

and circulated in the above county and that

he/she is familiar with the facts and that the notice, a copy of which is attached, was published in said newspaper
once each week for three consecutive weeks (three publications) prior to the time fixed for the hearing thereof, and
that the publications were made on the:

day of 20
day of 20
day of 20
Dated
Signature of Publisher
State of Michigan )
) ss
County of )
On the day of 20 , the foregoing instrument was acknowledged

before me by

Notary Public

My Commission expires




Approved, SCAO

JISCODE: PSV

STATE OF MICHIGAN
PROBATE COURT
COUNTYOF CALHOUN

PROOF OF SERVICE

FILE NO.

In the matter of

1. Titles of the papers served or mailed:

(] 2. According to court rule, | served by
[_] certified mail (copy of retumn receipt attached)

[] first-class mail
the papers described above on:

[ Jregistered mail (copy of return receipt attached)

Name

Complete address of service Date

[J 3. According to court rule, | served by personal service the papers described above on:

Name

Complete address of service Date and Time

(] 4. After diligent search and inquiry, | have been unable to find and serve the following interested persons. | have served these
persons by publication. Attached are copies of form PC 617.

| declare under the penalties of perjury that this proof of service has been examined by me and that its contents are true to the best

of my information, knowledge, and belief.

Service fee Miles traveled Fee

$ s

Incorrect address fee| Miles traveled Fee TOTAL FEE
$ E $

Date

Signature

Name (type or print)

USE NOTE: If this form is being filed in the circuit court family division, please enter the court name and county in the upper left-hand corner of the form.

Pc ss4 (9/10) PROOF OF SERVICE

Do not write below this line - For court use only

MCL 700.1306, MCL 700.1401, MCR 5.104(A), MCR 5.105, MCR 5.107



Mail Application and Fee to:
Vital Records Changes

P.O. Box 30721

Lansing, MI 48909

Michigan Department of Health
and Human Services
www.michigan.govl/vitalrecords

APPLICATION TO CORRECT OR CHANGE A MICHIGAN BIRTH RECORD
If any information is unknown, please indicate “unknown”. Incomplete applications will be returned.

PART 1 - APPLICANT INFORMATION

Name:
(First)

(Middle)

Must be 18 years old or oider

Copy of valid Identification required

(Last)

Address:

Zip:

Phone:

PART 2 - ELIGIBILITY

E-mail:

[ Self (Correcting my own record)

[] Parent named on the record

[ Legal guardian of the person named on the record

[] Legally licensed representative of the person named on the record

PART 3 - TYPE OF CHANGE OR CORRECTION REQUESTED

[] Correct/Change birth record for adult [ ] Court ordered legal name change. (Court order required)

[] Correct/Change birth record for minor [_] Remove a person who is not the biological parent (Court order required)

[C] Name change for parents who have married after the birth (Marriage record required)

PART 4 - CHILD’S INFORMATION NEEDED TO LOCATE CURRENT BIRTH CERTIFICATE

Full Name on Birth Certificate: Date of Birth:
Other Names Used: [ ] Adoption [ ] Legal Name Change
(First) (Middle) (Last)
Place of Birth: Gender: [] Male [[1Female []X

City and Coun

Mother/Parent Full Name at Birth:

PART 5 - PARENTS’ INFORMATION ON CHILD’S CURRENT BIRTH CERTIFICATE

Date of Birth:

Father/Parent Full Name at Birth:

Date of Birth:

PART 6 -~ CHANGES REQUESTED:

Incorrect item as it currently appears on the record Information as you would like it to appear on the record
1. 1.
2. 2.
3. 3.
4. 4.

PART 7 - SIGNATURE(S) REQUIRED TO PROCESS APPLICATION

If correcting a child’'s name all parents listed on record must sign. If the child is over the age of 15 and the name change is not court
ordered, we also require the child’s signature.
Signature of Person Requesting Change: Date:

Other Signature: Date:




PAYMENT  Check or Money Order made out o the "State of Michigan” Application Fee is Non-Refundable
Application Fee: $50.00 (includes one copy) $50.00

Additional Certified Copies: $16.00 each $

RUSH Processing Fee $25.00 $

TOTAL ENCLOSED: $

REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION Original documents will not be returned to you

Changes or corrections to birth records that can be made by this office are limited by law and are subject to very
specific supporting documentation.

¢ In general, we require at least two (2) dated documents proving the correct information. Documents typically
need to be at least five years old or older. Some changes require documents dated close to the time of birth.

s [f you are changing the name on a birth certificate for a person over the age of one (1) and do not have
documents to prove you have always used that name, you will have to petition the court in your county for a legal
name change order and submit a copy of the court order to our office.

+« To correct a parent’s information on a birth certificate we generally need a copy of the parent’s birth certificate,
marriage license or two documents dated five (5) years old or older showing the correct information.

For more information on documents needed, visit our FAQs on our website at www.michigan.gov/vitalrecords You can
also call our Changes Unit at 517-335-8660 or email MDHHS-VR-Changes@Michigan.gov.

ELIGIBILITY

Must be at least 18 years old or legally emancipated. Legal guardians must include a copy of the court guardianship
documents. Legally licensed representatives must provide documentation on official letterhead documenting that he/she
represents the person named on the record and provide their state bar license number, along with client's identification.
IDENTIFICATION REQUIREMENT QOriginal documents will not be returned to you

To change a Michigan birth record, a copy of a current valid, government-issued identification is required to establish
eligibility.

If you are correcting a child’s name, we require identification for all parents listed on the record. If a child’'s name change is
court ordered, we only require identification for one parent.

Please send a copy of one of the following unexpired identifications:

v U.S. or U.S. Territories Driver’'s License or Identification Card

v U.S. or Foreign Passport

v U.8. Passport Card

v U.S. Military Identification Card with both picture and signature

v Other U.S. or U.S. Territories issued document that meets the following criteria: Document must be unexpired.
Document must contain a photograph and at least the following information: name, date of birth, date of expiration,
signature, and address.

If you do not have identification as listed above, we will accept other documents to prove your identity. For a list of
alternative documents please visit our website at www.michigan.gov/vitalrecords or call our office at 517-335-86686.

PROCESSING TIME Prepaid self-addressed envelopes will NOT be used by our office

Normal processing time to correct or change a Michigan birth certificate is 5-6 weeks if all required documents are
received. If we must contact you for additional documentation, the processing time starts when we receive everything
needed. If you pay for RUSH service, processing time is 2-3 weeks from when everything is received. Processing time is
not guaranteed. There could be situations out of our control that cause processing times to be longer.

Note: Applications sent to the Vital Records post office box with an overnight delivery are not received in the Vital
Records office for three (3) days.

PENALTIES

Any person who willfully and knowingly makes false application to change a Michigan birth record may be fined and/or imprisoned
pursuant to MCL 333.2894(1)(b) and (¢)

The Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS) does not discriminate against any individual or group because of
race, religion, age, national origin, color, height, weight, marital status, genetic information, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity or
expression, political beliefs, or disability.

DCH-0847-CHGBX Rev 05-2023 MCL 333.2871(1) and 333.2891(3,10,11 and 13)



STATE OF MicRIGAN

GRETCHEN WHITMER DEPARTMENT OF STATE POLICE COL. JOSEPH M. GASPER
GOVERNOR Lansma DIREGTOR

MICHIGAN STATE POLICE
CRIMINAL HISTORY BACKGROUND CHECK FOR LEGAL NAME CHANGE

Effective: January 2019
1. Make a formal application with the court for a legal name Change.
2. Set up an appointment with your local Michigan law enfarcement agency to

be fingerprinted on a Michigan Applicant fingerprint card (R1-008), or FBI
fingerprint card. We only need one fingerprint card per person.

3. Complete the information on both sides of the card if two-sided.
Fingerprint Reason should be: NAME CHANGE. Include your phone number
and email address on the card or a note.

Mail the following (Na walk-in traffic is allowed) to the address below:

o The Fingerprint Card — DO NOT FOLD

o A copy of the Petition to Change Name with court file Number on it

o Acheck or money order payable to the STATE QF MICHIGAN far
543.25 (per person)

MICHIGAN STATE POLICE
CclicC
P.0. Box 30266
Lansing, Mi 48909
Further questions:
Phone 517-241-0606

FAX 517-241-0866
E-Mail: msp-crd-applhelp@michigan.gav

MICHIGAN STATE POLICE HEADQUARTERS » 7160 HARRIS DRIVE » DIMONDALE, MICHIGAN 48821
MAILING ADDRESS ¢ P.O BOX 30534 « LANSING, MICHIGAN 46808
www michlgan govimsp » 517-332-2621



