Deeds Fee Schedule

The Register of Deeds office is located at the Calhoun County Building, 315 West Green Street, Marshall, MI 49068.  
All Land Document Recordings must be filed in the Marshall Office.


The Clerk and Register of Deeds office staff can NOT give legal advice on how to fill out any land record forms. Therefore, we do NOT have ANY forms available in our office. If you need advice, please contact an attorney. If you do not have a lawyer and do not know a specific lawyer to contact, you can be referred to a lawyer through the State Bar of Michigan. You may call 1-800-968-0738 or visit michbar.org. You may also go to Michigan Legal Help.
 
For entering and recording any deed, mortgage, certified copy, lis pendens, or any other instrument including Timber, Oil and Gas Leases, Uniform Commercial Code filings, Finance Statements, Fixture Filings, Government Foreclosing documents, Land Division Act filings, Federal Tax Liens, State Tax Liens, MESC Liens, Discharges and Teminations:
$30.00 per document regardless of the number of pages (only cash or checks can be accepted for Land Record Recordings)

Documents that assign or discharge more than one instrument:
$30.00 plus $3.00 for each additional Liber and Page that is referenced on a Discharge or Assignment.

Warranty deeds, land contracts or an assignment thereof, or deeds that contain a convenant of warranty must have a tax certificate from the County Treasurer's office prior to recording. The fee is $5.00.

Copies:
Copy, real estate records per page  $1.00 
Copy, U.C.C. filing per page $2.00
Copy, Fixture filing per page  $1.00
Copy, State Tax Lien per page  $1.00 
Copy, Federal Tax Lien per page  $1.00 
Copy, Plat of record; minimum fee, per page     $2.00 
Certification of any of recorded instrument  $5.00 


Searches: 
UCC search per debtor (before 7/1/01)
(After 7/1/01) State of Michigan 
$6.00 
Expedited UCC Search Request $25.00
State Tax Lien search per debtor $3.00 
Federal Tax Lien search per debtor  $3.00