Records Division

Records Division

Sex Offender Registry

Anyone who resides, works, or is a student in Michigan, permanently or temporarily, for 14 or more consecutive days or 30 days in a calendar year is required to register if any of the following apply:

Anyone convicted of a listed offense after October 1, 1995.

Anyone convicted of a listed offense on or before October 1, 1995, if on October 1, 1995, he/she was on probation or parole, committed to jail, committed to the Department of Corrections, or under the jurisdiction of the juvenile division of the probate court or the department of social services for that listed offense.

Anyone convicted of an offense on or before October 1, 1995, if on October 1, 1995, he or she is on probation or parole that has been transferred to this state for that offense or his or her probation or parole is transferred to this state after October 1, 1995 for that offense.

Anyone who is required to register or otherwise be identified as a sex or child offender or predator under a comparable statute from another state.

Sex Offenders must register at their local policy agency.  For county residents who do not reside in the cities of Battle Creek or Marshall or the townships of Emmett or Bedford should apply with the Calhoun County Sheriff's Office.   If you are not sure where to register, please call 269-969-6442.

For more information refer to:

Freedom of Information Requests (FOIA)

The Civil Division is responsible for receiving and distributing the majority of the Freedom of Information requests for the Calhoun County Sheriff’s Office. FOIA requests must be submitted in writing to the Records Office. Additional charges are assessed for photographs, videos, and extensive reproduction of records. This process may take five (5) business days for a response.
FOIA requests can be made through the online portal.
Access the FOIA Portal.
For more information please call: (269) 969-6431 or via e-mail.

Cost :

The cost will vary depending on what kind of information is requested. If the amount exceeds $50, a down payment may be required before processing. 
General traffic accident reports must be obtained from P2C - Police 2 Citizen

Incarceration Records or Background Check

Photo identification is required in order to release incarceration or background records.
Cost :
$2.00 Search fee. Cash, check or Money Order made payable to Calhoun County Sheriff Office or CCSO. 

Concealed Weapon Permit

You will need to bring your CPL Application payment receipt with you to be fingerprinted.
An application packet to carry a concealed weapon may be obtained at the County Clerk's Office during normal business hours. Complete instructions are contained inside the packet.  Michigan residents with an existing concealed pistol license can now renew their license online at!/.
For more information or to receive an application online, refer to:,4643,7-123-1878_1591_3503_4654-10929--,00.html


If you need to be fingerprinted for licensing or job related activities, prints can be obtained from the Calhoun County Sheriff's Office. Valid state or military photo identification is required. State agency code is required to forward the fingerprint information to your employer.
Battle Creek:  Monday – Thursday 9:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. and 1:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. 
Marshall Regional Law Enforcement Center: Monday through Friday 9:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Cost :
Submission to State of Michigan - $71 for Public School Fingerprints, $77 for all other, $20 per card.  Cash, check or Money Order made payable to Calhoun County Sheriff Office or CCSO. Visa or MasterCard is also accepted (service fees may apply).

Pistol Permit

A license to purchase is valid for 30 days.
An individual may get a License to Purchase from any agencies in the State that issue’s License to Purchase.
If a person purchases a pistol from a FFL 1 dealer, they are exempt from the License to Purchase, and may complete the Pistol Sales Record instead. The dealer is required to do a check of the NICS Database. The MSP copy of the permit can be returned to our department.
You must have a valid Driver License.
Battle Creek: Monday – Thursday 9:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. and 1:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m.
Marshall Regional Law Enforcement Center: Monday through Friday 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Cost: $5 notary fee per each permit. Cash, check or Money Order made payable to Calhoun County Sheriff Office or CCSO. Visa or MasterCard is also accepted (services fees may apply)
For a complete list of Michigan firearm laws and information please visit the following:

Jail Booking Fee

Per Public Act 124 of 2003, which became effective October 1, 2003, amended chapter 171 of the Revised Statutes of 1846 related to county jails and regulations thereof, by adding a new section (MCL 801.4b) to the act. The amendment to the act regulates county jails by imposing a $12.00 booking fee on each inmate when first admitted into a county jail. The booking fee, when collected, is used as a source of revenue for the local correctional officers training programs. The Act was tie-barred to legislation enacted in Public Acts 121 of 2003 (MCL 791.501 - 791.517) and 125 of 2003 (MCL 791-531 - 791.546), which also took effect October 1, 2003.
You are allowed 5 business days to pay the $12 fee, (day one is the day you are release from jail). After the 5th business day, the citation will be filed with the court. Failure to pay the fee could result in $102 in court fees and the loss of your drivers license and you are still responsible for the $12 booking fee.
Cash, check or Money Order made payable to Calhoun County Sheriff Office or CCSO. Visa or MasterCard is also accepted (service fees may apply)
You may request a refund for the $12 booking fee if the charges against you were criminal, and the prosecution against you was terminated or you were found not guilty on all charges.