Calhoun County Justice Center
161 E. Michigan Avenue
Battle Creek, MI 49014-4066
(269) 969-6530
Fax (269) 969-6663 (Administrative only, not for document filing)
8:00 am - 12 noon and 1:00 pm - 5:00 pm


By Administrative Order - Security Policy for Court Facilities, individuals entering the Courthouse are to abide by the following:

No cameras, camera phones, *cell phones, or electronic recording devices, and

No weapons or cutting instruments allowed.

*Cell phones will be permitted for governmental employees with currently valid pictured I.D., licensed and practicing attorneys, physicians, victim advocates with a county pictured identification badge.

The state is divided into 57 judicial circuits along county lines. The number of judges within a circuit is established by law to accommodate required judicial activity. Calhoun County constitutes the 37th Judicial Circuit and currently has four Circuit Judges.

The circuit court is the trial court of general jurisdiction in Michigan. The court has jurisdiction over all actions except those given by state law to another court. The court has original jurisdiction in all civil cases involving more than $25,000, all criminal cases where the offense involves a felony or certain serious misdemeanors.  The family division handles divorces and ancillary matters, custody, parenting time, paternity, juvenile offenses, and abuse and neglect. It also handles emancipation of minors, personal protection orders, name changes, adoptions, parental consent waivers, guardianships (ancillary), and mental health commitments (ancillary). Circuit court also hears appeals from district court and administrative agencies.

Circuit judges are elected for terms of six years in nonpartisan elections.



MICHAEL L. JACONETTE Chief Judge Calhoun County Courts (269) 969-6820
JOHN H. HALLACY Circuit Judge (269) 969-6759
BRIAN K. KIRKHAM Circuit Judge (269) 969-6529
SARAH S. LINCOLN Circuit Judge (269) 969-6502
TINA YOST JOHNSON Circuit Judge (269) 969-6510


KRISTEN GETTING Court Administrator/FOC (269) 969-6523
MEGAN REYNOLDS Chief Deputy Court Administrator/Deputy Friend of the Court (269) 969-6500
PHIL AMSTERBURG Assistant Manager - Juvenile Services (269) 969-6779
KIM FURLONG Administrative Services Mgr. (269) 969-6523
SARAH PARKER Office Assistant (269) 969-6526

Judicial Staff

Judge Hallacy    
TERESA AVERY Judicial Clerk (269) 969-6759
VAL BANASZEWSKI Court Services Officer (269) 969-6507
Judge Kirkham    
CHRISTY WOODARD Judicial Clerk (269) 969-6529
CRYSTAL WATSON Court Services Officer (269) 969-6515
Judge Lincoln    
PENNY SHAW Judicial Clerk (269) 969-6502
KELLY JO FOURNIER Court Services Officer (269) 969-6503
Judge Yost Johnson
MONICA WOOD-BLAKESLEE Judicial Clerk (269) 969-6510
KIM HOWARD Court Services Officer (269) 969-6511

Jury System

(856) 509-5879 (TOLL FREE)
(269) 969-6531 (FAX)

Alternative Dispute Resolution

KIM FURLONG ADR Clerk (269) 969-6523
SARAH PARKER Office Assistant (269) 969-6526

Calhoun County, 315 West Green Street, Marshall, MI 49068 | Phone: (269) 781-0700
© 2010 Calhoun County. All Rights Reserved