FireKeepers Local Revenue Sharing Board


2019 documents: 

Application for specific actual increased costs incurred

Timeline for 2019 distribution of tribal payment

2019 Board Members
Chairperson, Rebecca Fleury, Battle Creek City Manager
Vice Chair, Tim Hill, Emmett Township Supervisor
Secretary, Jamie Stuck, NHBP Tribal Chairperson
Treasurer, Joe Caron, Marshall City Mayor
Greg Moore, Consumers Energy
Derek King, Calhoun County Commissioner

The FireKeepers Local Revenue Sharing Board (FLRSB) exists to comply with terms of a Compact between the Nottawaseppi Huron Band of the Potawatomi Indians (the Tribe) and the State of Michigan providing for Tribal Class III gaming by the Tribe in Calhoun County. The Compact was entered into on December 3, 1998, and amended on July 23, 2009, and defines how tribal payments are made to local governments. Per the Compact, the Tribe makes payments equal to 2% of the annual net winnings from electronic games of chance in order to provide resources to units of government that are located in the immediate vicinity of the tribal casino or those otherwise directly impacted by the operation of the casino. The FireKeepers Casino commenced casino gaming operations on August 1, 2009 and is located in Emmett Township, Calhoun County, MI, on land held in trust for the Nottawaseppi Huron Band by the United States. The FLRSB distributed nearly $1.9 million to local governments in 2010 from the first annual "Net Win" payment from the casino's operations!

The terms of the Compact also allow local units of government to form a Local Revenue Sharing Board in conjunction with the tribe. The FLRSB was formed by an Interlocal Agreement under the Urban Cooperation Act of 1967 (MCL 124.501 et seq., as amended) to collect and allocate funds received directly from casino operations based on the Compact. Representatives of the local units of government located in the immediate vicinity of the casino and the tribal reservation in Athens Township are appointed by their respective elected body and serve at their pleasure. The FLRSB currently consists of six representativesone from each of the following entities: Calhoun County, Emmett Township, the City of Battle Creek, the City of Marshall, Athens Township and a representative from the Tribe. Guidelines and bylaws which establish criteria or formulas for the distribution of casino revenue and the actual disbursements of funds require a unanimous vote of the representatives.
view all


2019 Summer Hours
Click to see summer hours for all Calhoun County government offices and departments.
Sign up for Administrator's Update
After every Board of Commissions meeting, Administrator/Controller Kelli Scott sends an update about County Government news and events. Stay up to...

2019 Meeting Schedule

Wednesday, March 13, 2:30 p.m.
**Friday, April 26, 8:30 a.m.
Friday, May 3, 8:30 a.m.
Thursday, May 9, 8:30 a.m.

Meetings will be held in Room 3-700, Calhoun County Building, 315 W. Green Street, Marshall, MI 49068 or if designated ** in the Board of Commissioners Chambers in the Calhoun County Building, 315 W. Green Street, Marshall, MI 49068.

Calhoun County, 315 West Green Street, Marshall, MI 49068 | Phone: (269) 781-0700 | Employees Only Contact Webmaster Translate this page:
© 2019 Calhoun County. All Rights Reserved|Design and development by|Privacy Policy|Terms & Conditions|Site Map|Acrobat|Intranet|RSS |Facebook