Frequently Asked Questions

 
Print
 
 

On this page, you will find a number of Frequently Asked Questions relating to Jury Service.  To view the answer to a particular question, please click on the question.

ArrowWhy was I selected?

You were selected at random, in accordance with state law, from a list of Calhoun County residents who possess a Michigan State Driver's License and/or a Michigan State Identification Card. This process starts over each year so you may be called multiple years in a row.

ArrowHow do I complete my questionnaire?

Within 10 days, you must complete your questionnaire.  We strongly encourage you to complete your questionnaire on-line using your 10-digit Candidate ID and 5-digit zip code.  Other ways you may submit your completed questionnaire are by mail to Jury Assembly Room, Calhoun County Justice Center, 161 E. Michigan Ave., Battle Creek, MI 49014, drop it off in our drop box on the fourth floor, email it to jury@calhouncountymi.gov or fax it to 269-969-6531.  It is very important to submit accurate and current contact information.  If you need to update your information, contact the Jury Coordinator immediately.

ArrowCan I edit my contact information?

Yes.  Changes can be made in e-Response up until two days prior to your term beginning.  Log into eResponse, click EDIT YOUR ANSWERS, enter your new information and click on SUBMIT YOUR ANSWERS.  However, if it is 1 day prior to your term or during your term, you must contact the Jury Coordinator immediately by email, phone or fax.  Please include your name and Candidate ID along with your new information.

ArrowWhen do I report?

The Calhoun County Jury Coordinator is informed every afternoon for the following day's trials. 

There are several ways you will learn if you are to report:

  1. Using our Interactive Voice Response system (IVR), we will contact you by phone (between 6pm-8pm), email, and text if you are required to report the following day using the contact information you provided at the time you submitted your questionnaire.  Your contact information must be accurate and current.  If you need to update your information, contact the Jury Coordinator immediately by email, phone or fax.
  2.  
  3. You may visit our eResponse system after 5:00 pm each evening before your jury term begins and continue until your jury terms ends.  To log in, you MUST have your 10-digit Candidate ID and your 5-digit zip code.
  4.  
  5. You can call the IVR hotline at 1-855-509-5879.  To log in, you MUST have your 10-digit Candidate ID.
  6.  
  7. When required to attend, please report to the Jury Assembly Room on the 4th floor (Rm #452) in the Calhoun County Justice Complex, 161 E. Michigan Ave., Battle Creek, MI 49014.  You must present your Juror Badge and Driver’s License each day when reporting.
YOU SHOULD ALWAYS KEEP YOUR PERSONAL BELONGINGS WITH YOU.
ArrowWhere do I report?

The Jury Assembly Room is located on the 4th floor (room #452) of the Calhoun County Justice Complex, 161 E. Michigan Ave., Battle Creek, MI 49014. 

DIRECTIONS

ArrowHow long do I report?
Each juror’s term is approximately two weeks.  You will be required to serve each day during your term when requested to report.  If you are selected for a trial, you will follow the instructions of the Judge presiding over that trial.
ArrowWhy is my Juror Badge important?
Your juror badge must be presented (along with your driver’s license) each time you report for service.  It is important to be displayed after checking in because it indicates to others you are a juror and they should not expose you to any information about the cases on which you may serve.  Your juror badge also allows you to bring in food and drink into the courthouse. 
ArrowWhat if I don't have a Juror Badge?
Your juror badge is located in the top section of your questionnaire.  If you’ve misplaced your juror badge, please advise the jury coordinator the next time you report for service.
ArrowWhat do I do in case of any family emergency or illness?

Please notify the Jury Coordinator at jury@calhouncountymi.gov.  You may also call (269) 969-6533 and leave a message.  Please note, the Jury Coordinator cannot answer this line during orientations or check-in processes.

ArrowWhat do I do if I need a work slip?

If you need work slips for your employer, one will be provided for you each day in the Jury Assembly Room.

ArrowMust my employer pay me while I'm on jury service?

No.  An employer is NOT required by law to pay employees who are on jury service but many employers do.  You should check with your company's human resources department before serving to see if your company pays your salary for days you are a juror.  If you DO receive your salary while on jury service, you should ask what your employer requires as proof that you served as a juror.

ArrowWhere do I park?

Parking is available at the Calhoun County Justice Complex parking lot. Please enter the parking area off Division Street (M-66) between John Patterson Way and Van Buren Street. Handicap parking is available in this lot. Please use the front entrance to the building. 

PLEASE NOTE: Do not park in the City Hall or Haven parking lots.  You may be towed/ticketed if you do.  Overflow parking can be found on either side of Fire Station #1 on Michigan Avenue.

DIRECTIONS

ArrowI have a conflict or a reason why I cannot serve.  Who do I contact?

The Jury Coordinator can disqualify, excuse, defer or postpone a juror’s service upon request.  All Requests must be made at least 10 days before your term begins.  Most requests need accompanying documentation.  Please Note:  sending in documentation does not automatically mean you are approved.  If you are not notified that your request has been approved, you are still required to report as instructed.  Any requests not approved by the Jury Coordinator can be addressed to the Judge and attorneys during the jury selection process in the courtroom.

DISQUALIFICATION
Reason Docs Needed
Age 70 or older None - you may opt-out at age 70
Deceased Copy of Obituary or Death Certificate
Felony Judgment of Sentence
EXCUSUAL 
Reason Docs Needed
Moved out of county/state Copy of address change on your Driver's License
Served jury duty in the last year Provide date and place of service
Medical/disabled Doctor's note
Not a U.S. citizen Copy of your Visa/Green Card
Nursing a child Doctor's Note
Student or active military Current class schedule (must include juror's name)
DEFFERRAL (Reschedule)
Reason General Inforamation
We know that Jury Service may be scheduled at a time that does not work in everyone's busy schedule.  To accommodate our jurors, we allow you to defer your service once per calendar year.
 
All requests must have some type of documentation confirming your circumstances.  Requests can be submitted by logging into eResponse, calling the IVR hotline, email to jury@calhouncountymi.gov, fax (269) 969-6531 or leaving a message at (269) 969-6533
POSTPONEMENT (1 Day Excusal)
Reason General Inforamation
We know that Jury Service may be scheduled at a time that does not work in everyone's busy schedule.  To accommodate our jurors, we allow you to defer your service once per calendar year.  
 
All requests must have some type of documentation confirming your circumstances.  Requests can be by email to jury@calhouncountymi.gov, fax (269) 969-6531 or leaving a message at (269) 969-6533.

 

ArrowWill I be compensated for my service?

As of April 1, 2018, the juror rates increased to $15.00 per half day and $30.00 per first full day of jury service.  For each subsequent day, the rate is $22.50 per half day and $45.00 per full day.  Payments will only accrue for required attendance dates.  Round trip mileage between your home and the Calhoun County Justice Center will be reimbursed at the rate of $.20 per mile.  Checks are mailed to the address on your summons.  You should receive your check approximately four weeks after the month in which you served.  (If your address has changed, please notify the Jury Coordinator).

ArrowWhat items are prohibited inside the Justice Complex?

Entrance to the building subjects you to a search by Sheriff Department personnel.  Please make sure you do not have any items that may be considered a weapon, including pocket knives. CELL PHONES ARE ALSO PROHIBITED.  If you are found in possession of any prohibited items, you will be asked to return them to your car.

ArrowAre there certain rules for jurors?
  • Please wear your Juror Badge at all times while you are serving.
  • Do NOT consume any alcoholic beverages or illegal substances during lunch and/or breaks.
  • Follow judges instructions provided in the courtroom.
ArrowWhat should I wear?

Please dress in "business casual" attire while serving as a juror.  Please do not wear tee-shirts, shorts, halter tops, jeans with holes or hats into the courtroom.  Revealing clothing is to be avoided.  Please avoid over-powering perfumes or cologne.

ArrowIs food or beverage allowed in the Jury Assembly Room?

Coffee, tea and water will be provided.  With your jury badge you may bring in your own food and beverages as long as they are covered and contained.  A refrigerator and microwave are available for your use.  An approximate one hour lunch break will be provided.  Lunch will be at your own expense unless you are told otherwise.

ArrowWho do I contact if I am in need of securing an accommodation under the Americans with Disability Act (ADA)?

You may contact the jury office directly at 269-969-6533 or jury@calhouncountymi.gov for assistance.

 
Calhoun County, 315 West Green Street, Marshall, MI 49068 | Phone: (269) 781-0700 | Employees Only Contact Webmaster Translate this page:
© 2018 Calhoun County. All Rights Reserved|Design and development by Americaneagle.com|Privacy Policy|Terms & Conditions|Site Map|Acrobat|Intranet|RSS |Facebook